Denying Ethnic Identity: The Macedonians Of Greece

by Human Rights Watch

Although ethnic Macedonians in northern Greece make up a large minority with their own language and culture, their internationally recognized human rights and even their existence are vigorously denied by the Greek government.

Denying Ethnic Identity: The Macedonians Of Greece

Free expression is restricted; several Macedonians have been prosecuted and convicted for the peaceful expression of their views. Moreover, ethnic Macedonians are discriminated against by the government's failure to permit the teaching of the Macedonian language.

And ethnic Macedonians, particularly rights activists, are harassed by the government - followed and threatened by security forces - and subjected to economic and social pressures resulting from this harassment.

All of these actions have led to a marked climate of fear in which a large number of ethnic Macedonians are reluctant to assert their Macedonian identity or to express their views openly.

Ethnic Macedonian political refugees who fled northern Greece after the Greek Civil War of 1946-49, as well as their descendants who identify themselves as Macedonians, are denied permission to regain their citizenship, to resettle in, or even to visit, northern Greece. By contrast, all of these are possible for political refugees who define themselves as Greeks. Greek courts have denied permission to establish a "Centre for Macedonian Culture". Ultimately, the government is pursuing every avenue to deny the Macedonians of Greece their ethnic identity.

Denying Ethnic Identity: The Macedonians of Greece is available through the Australian agent, Pollitecon Publications, for $15, which includes postage and handling. Overseas airmail is A$21.

Denying Ethnic Identity: The Macedonians of Greece, Paperback, 92 pages, 230 x 154mm, Published by Human Rights Watch 1994, Price in Australia A$15 including postage and GST, Overseas airmail A$21, ISBN 1-56432-132-0

This Book is Now Sold Out. For a Free PDF Click Here »

Next Book »